DJ Awards announces 2018 winners at Heart - My Ibiza

DJ Awards announces 2018 winners at Heart

Hosting its 21st annual celebration, this past Tuesday saw the DJ Awards announce its 2018 victors at its brand new home of Heart.

Paying tribute to the era of Disco, several DJs, producers and electronic music industry experts out in force for this memorable occasion.

Hosted for the first time by both Graham Sahara and Katie Hayley Knight, a grand total of 27 awards were presented on the night representing the heavyweights, the newcomers and the influencers.

Considered the king of dance music, Carl Cox was presented one of most popular awards amongst voters as he collected the prize for International DJ.

This year also saw four of electronic music’s most beloved genres divided into Artist and Master categories allowing for a new wave of talent to be recognised at the 2018 ceremony.

With the new introduction of the Master categories now official, such an opening provided Jamie Jones with the label of Tech House Master, Paul Van Dyk as Trance Master, Joseph Capriati as Techno Master whilst Roger Sanchez was given the House Master prize.

In terms of Artist awards, CamelPhat scooped the House Artist category, Patrick Topping was awarded Tech House Artist, Melodic House & Techno Artist fell into the hands of Solomun, Deep House Artist was presented to Black Coffee and Hernan Cottaneo was crowned as Progressive House Artist. He also collected the award for Dance Nation on behalf of Argentina. Ilario Alicante was bestowed with Techno Artist award and Ben Nicky received the award for Trance Artist.

Elsewhere, other impressive scoops saw Archie Hamilton take home Producer powered by Focal, Max Chapman lifted this year’s Breakthrough award in association with Beatport whilst Alex Kennon was recognised with this year’s Newcomer prize.

The complete list of winners from this year’s DJ Awards can be seen below:


Bass: Andy C
Deep House: Black Coffee
Electronica/Down-Tempo: DJ Koze
House Master: Roger Sanchez
House: CamelPhat
Melodic House/Techno: Solomun
Tech House Master: Jamie Jones
Tech House Artist: Patrick Topping
Techno Master: Joseph Capriati
Techno Artist: Ilario Alicante
Trance Master: Paul Van Dyk
Trance Artist: Ben Nicky
Progressive House: Hernan Cattaneo
Breakthrough: Max Chapman
Electronic Live Performer: Stephan Bodzin
International DJ: Carl Cox
Newcomer: Alex Kennon

Special Industry Awards:

Dance Nation: Argentina
Electronic Music Pioneer: Masters At Work
Ibiza DJ: Clara Da Costa
International Festival in collaboration with Faze Mag: Caprices Festival
Ibiza Music Event: Storytellers Chapter 2
Ibiza Night supported by Ibiza Spotlight: RESISTANCE
Outstanding Achievement: Sven Vath
Producer powered by Focal: Archie Hamilton
Record Label of the Year: Deeperfect
Track of the Season: Adam Beyer & Bart Skils ‘Your Mind’


  • No comments yet.
  • chat
    Add a comment