May 2018 – Our favourite 10 releases of the month - My Ibiza

May 2018 – Our favourite 10 releases of the month

With opening parties now in full swing, here are our favourite selections from May to get you in the groove…

Featuring such illustrious names as трип temptress Nina Kraviz, Belgium’s Amelie Lens and Ellum Audio chief Maceo Plex, we’ve got the start to your summer covered.

Mount Kimbie – ‘Blue Train Lines’ (Nina Kraviz Main Mix) [Warp Records] – 4th May

A highlight of the Mount Kimbie Love What Survives Remix package, scintillating Siberian Nina Kraviz transforms ‘Blue Train Lines’ into an extended journey of fast-paced, relentless techno.

Pablo Fierro – ‘Kalaa’ [Compost] – 4th May

Selected by Black Coffee as a part of his 25 years of Sonar compilation, Pablo Fierro’s ‘Kalaa’ is the perfect illustration of his amazing production talents. His latest release sees the Spaniard chalk up a tribal, driving tropical dose of Afrohouse beats.

Alias (GB) – ‘NRG’ [Drumcode] – 7th May

Returning to Drumcode under their dynamic Alias moniker, brothers Harvey and Ryan McKay serve up an attitude-packed whirlwind consisting of pugnacious snares, deviating vocals and a tension-filled break.

Regal – ‘Fenix’ (Amelie Lens Remix) [Involve] – 7th May

Firmly asserting herself in the techno big leagues, Belgium’s breakout star, Amelie Lens, takes Regal’s confining original and delivers a pounding remix of explosive techno and trance on ‘Fenix’.

La Fleur – ‘Devil’s Sigh’ (Tuff City Kids Remix) [Watergate Records] – 14th May

Comprised of Gerd Janson and Phillip Lauer, Tuff City Kids chime in with a remix of ‘Devil’s Sigh’ on La Fleur’s latest EP, ‘Outbreaker’. Fuelled by a hypnotic groove, the Franfurt-based pairing’s bonafide remixing skills are applauded once again as they turn the original into an analog-heavy, future-retro belter.

Randomer – ‘Slicing’ [Dekmantel UFO] – 14th May

London-born, the awe-inducing Randomer provides a vigorous, no-frills banger with ‘Slicing’ as a captivating single note hook fizzles and chops around an enchanting syncopated kick.

Maceo Plex & Maars – ‘Mutant Disco’ [Correspondant] – 18th May

Opening a series of fresh “techno mutations” starting with Correspondant, ‘Mutant Disco’ blends together powerful grooves with evil synth overtones around a recurring vocal resistance with a chunky bass-guitar groove providing more room within the record.

Pryda – ‘Elements’ [Pryda Recordings] – 18th May

A brand new release under his techno alias, Pryda, Eric Prydz delivers a weaving eight minute narrative filled with pulsating, driving techno.

Roisin Murphy ‘All My Dreams’ [The Vinyl Factory] – 18th May

Teaming up with the incredibly talented Maurice Fulton, Roisin Murphy cuts down her impeccable songwriting into of simple expressions and short flourishes of melody. This is paired with a bawling bassline and brassy, reverberating drum fills.

Wade – ‘Boyz In Da Hood’ (CamelPhat Remix) [Resonance Records] – 18th May

Turning in a seriously strong dance-floor ready remix, Grammy-nominated duo CamelPhat take Wade’s heavyweight audio assault of ‘Boyz In Da Hood’ and supply a peak-time weapon with their inimitable style – a far cry away from the subdued groove of ‘Cola’.


  • No comments yet.
  • chat
    Add a comment